This year’s iteration of the tournament drew 84 teams to town, which is just about right, said Faron Reed, one of the organizers of this year’s tourney.

“It’s a manageable size, but still brings a lot of people to town,” Reed said.

Most of the games were hosted in Richfield, while the 14U division was played in Monroe. 

The tradition of the tournament started in the year 2000, back when it was title sponsored by Richfield Coca-Cola. The all-star invitational tournament brings youths from across the state, as well as their families. Local teams also participated in the tournament, two of which won. 

The Richfield Blue team won the 12U bracket. 

The team includes Bridger Vincent, Fisher Jenson, Jess Curtis, Pace Mullen, Jhet Roundy, Gage Yardley and Malik Fautin. Also, Hudson Hansen, Blake Ross, Slate Reitz, Kaylen Kelsey, Griffin Wayman and Hayden Reed. Also, coaches Rob Jenson, Matt Harmon, Drew Wayman and Nate Curtis. 

The boys scored 47 runs and allowed only eight in five games played in the tournament.

The Sevier County Bombers won the 13U championship. 

The team includes Gavin Kirchner, Reggie Hafen, Gage Robinson, Keaton Anderson, Cort Moon, Beck Giblette, Bragen Clark, Paysen Mitchell, Caysen Acord, Nathan Young, Dylan Stubbs, Carson Hutchings and Peyton Ingram.

Wes Kirschner and Dustin Acord coached the Bombers.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.