For years The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Sevier County has had four stakes — Richfield, Richfield East, Monroe and Salina. 

A new stake was formed Sunday. 

The Central Valley Utah Stake is comprised of parts of the Monroe Utah Stake and the Richfield East Stake. It encompasses the town of Central Valley, Annabella and portions of Richfield.

Other wards also saw modifications to their boundaries implemented Sunday due to the split in the stakes. 

The new stake will retain President Brian R. Barton from the Monroe stake, as well as first counselor Charles G. Hawley. Jeffrey T. Raisor was added as the second counselor for the new stake. 

The Monroe Stake has a new presidency including President Darren L. Obray, Gregory C. Abbott, first counselor, and Cory R. Sorensen, second counselor.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.